top of page
  • lewisucel

Senior Spotlight: Grace Crumbaugh

By:Grace Crumbaugh


When accepting the position of a Community Engaged Learning Facilitator (CELF), I had absolutely no idea the profound impact this role would have on my life. Now that I am graduating in May, I see that my experience as a course-based CELF during the past three semesters has genuinely been one of the best experiences I have had throughout college. The emphasis on relationship-building within community, as well as the use of critical reflection on a problem at hand (and even on one’s own shortcomings) has allowed me many valuable opportunities to challenge my previously very narrow world-views. Consequently, my understanding of a leader has completely evolved from someone who takes charge of a group with a common goal, to someone who empowers others to lead with their own unique skillsets and natural talents. A leader is not someone who ultimately makes all the decisions for the benefit of the group as a whole, but rather deeply listens to those around them and considers the diversity of perspectives present among the group. Additionally, leaders strive to be life-long learners through relying upon the wisdom of others and utilizing various methods of reflection.


I greatly admire this true leadership that is humbly modeled by my faculty partner, Dr. Gretchen Hoge, As well as the entire Office of Community Engaged Learning (OCEL) team. It has been an honor to work alongside some of the most wonderfully compassionate leaders during my time as a CELF. While recognizing that I still have a lot of growth yet to pursue, their support has given me a renewed sense of confidence and an understanding that social justice issues are often far more complex and interconnected than what appears on the surface level. With that being said, it is my hope that, in my future leadership roles I will empower others, listen, and most importantly, to continue learning.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Catholic Charities’ Foster Grandparents

By: Jayla Davis This semester, I have had the privilege to experience working with Catholic Charities’ Foster Grandparents program, along with my fellow Lewis University classmates, and peers. This pr

bottom of page