top of page
  • lewisucel

Catholic Charities’ Foster Grandparents

By: Jayla Davis


This semester, I have had the privilege to experience working with Catholic Charities’ Foster Grandparents program, along with my fellow Lewis University classmates, and peers. This program has allowed me to gain a genuine connection with my new mentor, which has led to weekly conversations full of insight, joy, and wisdom. The idea is for university students to connect with seniors in the community, providing them an outlet and care in dignity, as well.

Throughout this semester I have learned about many trials seniors experience in society. They are often neglected or pushed to the side and may experience ageism; therefore, they are more likely forced to retire early or out of work entirely. In general, most seniors in the community do not experience life in the way they once desired. While participating in the Foster Grandparents program, my companion and I are able to provide each other an outlet – seniors get the opportunity to engage in the community as mentors and teachers – while, together, we build a relationship and give each other a safe space, combating the isolation and any potentiality of depression through our communication.


I have had the privilege of participating in community engaged learning for two different classes with many opportunities to explore perspective for each class. First, I have gotten the sociology perspective. In this class, I am able to learn more about development, structure and social factors that change society. These ideologies also influence individual persons and their own lives. Second, I have gotten the social work perspective. Social work has taught me about individuals, families and communities working to meet the needs of community members with a focus on strengths, social justice, and the empowerment of individuals, groups, and agencies and within the community. My participation in the community work and engagement is a very micro-level involvement compared to a much larger organization, like Catholic Charities.


The sociology and social work courses are both rooted in society, change, and policy, and many of the social factors that frame a person’s experiences based on their environment; therefore, I see many of the same thoughts and ideas about community with both classes. These classes have helped me recognize my biases and to address them. For example, hearing about the program, I initially believed it would be difficult to connect with a senior. I had not had much experience with seniors – not even with my own grandparents – and this was something new. I had my own biases about seniors and I also felt that my voice in the community lacked importance. I wondered “how am I, a 21-year-old, going to help a senior?” And in my case the age gap between myself and my companion was 50 years!

But after addressing my biases, I have let my guard down and entered this new relationship with the individual, not my ideas of that person, and engaged with a very unique lens. And in doing so I was able to connect with my Foster Grandparent in a true way. She offers me advice, offers a listening ear, and gives me her wisdom. She truly shows care and understanding. Not only am I helping her with the feeling of isolation and even possible depression, she has done the same for me, as well. I must mention, equally as important, she makes me feel like I matter. She would often say “You teach me so much… I love hearing what you have to say. You’re helping me. I am always learning something new!” Who said you can't teach old dogs new tricks? That reassurance means a lot. All in all, this process not only allowed me to engage with seniors in the community, but to also build a relationship and re-examine the biases that may have kept me from doing so in previous years.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page