top of page
  • lewisucel

Nicole Manke- 2023 Newman Civic Fellow!

Nicole Manke, a junior social work major and human resource management minor joined the Community Engaged Learning Facilitator (CELF), program in 2021 as a course-based CELF. Since then, she has partnered Dr. Emily Shayman and Dr. Rachel Wells to support their Intro to Social Work course, facilitating reflections and supporting peers in many ways so they can engage with the community.

This spring, Nicole was nominated to serve as a Newman Civic Fellow on behalf of Lewis University. Through this year-long program, Nicole will work with other student leaders from around the country to create strategies for social change.

We asked Nicole to answer a few questions about the program and her experience as a CELF and her thoughts about becoming a Newman Civic Fellow.


Office of Community Engaged Learning (OCEL): What has been your favorite part of the CELF program?

Nicole: Interacting with people is my overall favorite part of the CELF program. From that, I enjoy watching the students in the Introduction to Social Work class grow and get more involved in the community partners they work with. Naturally, each student may have some hesitations at the beginning. As the semester progresses, they tend to really lean into the reflections and the work they do with their partners. I like learning about their perceptions and ideas of topics that come out in the reflections I do, especially when they bring up something that I hadn’t thought about before. Working with different professors (Hi Dr. Shayman and Dr. Wells!), the director of Community Engaged Learning, Laura Wilmarth -Tyna, the current Graduate Assistants, Kelly and Hannah, and other students involved in the program have also been a great experience. Everyone is so amazing and interesting that I am thankful to be in such an awesome program.

OCEL: What advice do you have for students and leaders everywhere?

Nicole: I am not too big on giving other people advice. I will say that what has worked for me is going a little bit out of my comfort zone. None of what I have done or will accomplish in the future was from me waiting around for it to happen. Talking with professors and other students can lead to incredible opportunities or experiences that maybe you would not have tried if not for that conversation. A small “hello” can mean a world of difference.

OCEL: What are you excited for about the Newman Civic Fellowship?

Nicole: I am incredibly excited to meet and interact with the Newman Civic Fellows from other universities. I know I will learn so much from them and their experiences in promoting community. Learning and reflecting is a life-long process, and it will be great to grow my own views on community and civic engagement through this fellowship.

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page