top of page
  • lewisucel

CELF Spotlight- Natalie Lif and Michael Yerkes

The Office of Community Engaged Learning has been fortunate enough to have such great CELFs throughout the years. The CELF program (Community Engaged Learning Facilitators) embodies student involvement and promotes leadership. We asked some of our CELFs questions about their thoughts on the program. Natalie Lif is one of our graduating CELFs. She shares about her experiences here…



What has been your favorite part about the CELF program?

“My favorite part of the CELF program has been getting to know the other CELFs. As a commuter, it can be difficult to find a group of other students who are interested in the same things as you, and the CELF program made it so easy to open up to other students and make friends. The CELLS class also really allowed me to get to know my classmates and have a better understanding of what it means to be a leader.”

Advice for future CELFs?

“My advice to incoming CELFs would be to communicate. In order to succeed as a leader-in-training, you have to learn that it's ok to ask for help, be there to help others even if it's just lending an ear, and celebrate the little victories!”

What has been your favorite part about your community partner?

“My favorite part of my community partner, the Fairmont community, has been getting to know some of the leaders within that community. Not once in my two years working with them have I had a bad interaction with them; they are all the kindest and most dedicated people I've met, and it has been a blessing to work with them.”


Michael is a first-year CELF that has been a big part of our partnership with the DRC (Disability Resource Center). Michael shares a lot of great tips here…

What drew you into the CELF program?

“I came into the CELF Program because I knew so many people that I looked up to in the program. I had been in classes with CELFs and they were always so dedicated to anything they did. They were all leaders and created meaningful change on campus and in the community. When considering if I should apply, they all encouraged me to do so because they all loved the experience!”

How do you manage time?

“I manage time through always creating time to prepare for the week. If you see me, I will always have my planner with me. The first task I accomplish every Monday is creating my plan for the week. The plan includes deadlines that need to be met, events occurring this week, and friendly reminders of what is approaching in the upcoming weeks. Throughout college, I have learned that there is so much importance in taking the time needed in order to prepare for the week. Many times, the planning session will take longer than expected. However, if I created a thorough plan for the week, it was completely worth it. This way I know what is coming at me, and what I need to prepare. It is essential to step back from what you are doing at least once a week to create a plan.”

What advice can you give to incoming CELFs?

“I would give the advice to incoming CELFs that the beginning of the partnership with the community can be intimidating especially if you are unsure what your role entails. In the beginning, you need to almost over-communicate in order to learn about your role and how to best create change. With my community partner, we were able to schedule weekly meetings in order to discuss my role. Be honest with your questions and concerns, and it will pay off! Also, remember that you got this! No one is perfect and you never stop learning! Lastly, you have Laura, your fellow CELFs (including me) and the entire Office of Community Engaged Learning supporting you, so always reach out if you need any help!”


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page