top of page
  • lewisucel

Celebrating Five Years of the CELF Program

In the fall of 2017, OCEL launched an undergraduate leadership program aimed at empowering students to facilitate community engagement by supporting faculty members and community partners. The Community Engaged Learning Facilitator (CELF) Program started with two student leaders and a hope that the initiative would be fruitful. Five years later, the program has engaged 98 student leaders (with duplication) over 10 semesters.


Alison Green, Lewis University Alum and one of the first CELF program students, shared with us about her experience with community engaged learning!


What was your favorite part about being a CELF?

“My favorite part was getting to see the change happening in the hearts of the other students, seeing their perspectives widening and embracing new, community-centered ideas with enthusiasm. When the world seemed overwhelmingly messy and filled with insurmountable global issues, I was filled with hope by the quiet, but momentous changes I could see happening in my peers.”


What advice do you have for current/future CELFs?

“When you first start your career, it is likely you won't land in a leadership role to begin with, but that doesn't mean you can't be a leader. Pay attention to how you impact those around you and support them with the skills that make you who you are. Hold yourself accountable, have integrity and the right people will see that you are a leader.”


How has the CELF program influenced you currently?

“I still think back to my time as a CELF on a regular basis. When I'm feeling frustrated or not in control, I think back to what I learned about servant leadership and the experiences I had with my fellow students. There have been numerous times that I've needed to step into a leadership role to inspire a colleague, motivate a team or persuade a superior to implement change. Reflecting on my experiences as a CELF have equipped me with the courage to do the things that may not be easy, but are right.”

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page