top of page
  • lewisucel

Tribute to Dr. Gail Gehrig

Updated: Mar 30, 2021

By: Dr. Christie Billups

October 25, 1946 - March 19, 2021


There is no question in my mind that the Office of Community Engaged Learning (OCEL) would not have come into being, at least not when and how it did, if it had not been for Dr. Gail Gehrig, retired Professor of Sociology. So when I learned of her death today (19 March 2021), I was saddened indeed.


Gail was a champion of justice for all and understood in a clear and profound way that students would come to value human community and the challenges community members face if they were to form relationship and work side-by-side with neighbors through course work and research. Prior to the formation of the Office of Service Learning in 2010 (now OCEL), she and a few colleagues created LCARE, or Lasallian Collaboration for Applied Research and Engagement. As a sociologist, she knew that deeper understanding of communities and injustice does not come from afar but rather in proximity and connection. She worked with then Dean Bonnie Bondavalli to advocate for the creation of an office that would help to connect academics with the community in meaningful ways.


Dr. Gehrig did not just help to create an office focused on engagement. She remained an ally and advocate through its nascent years. She was a source of encouragement and solidarity to me, the founding coordinator, and kept me going when the questions and challenges were many.


I hope I remembered to thank you many times, Gail, when you were around to hear my appreciation. I hope you know that you leave a lasting legacy that we carry on with gratitude and care. Thank you one more time. Peace to you, dear colleague!



14 views0 comments
bottom of page