top of page
  • lewisucel

Practicing Faithful Justice Continues to Engage Students Despite the Pandemic

College of Humanities, Fine Arts and Communications

By: Dr. Christie Billups

Assistant Professor of Theology Peace Studies Program Co-Director


Like many Community Engaged Learning (CEL) instructors, I have had to make significant adjustments to how CEL happens in my course during the pandemic. Previously, all students in Practicing Faithful Justice (PFJ) were asked to correspond, via paper letters, with someone incarcerated in the state of Illinois. Since paper letters would depend on my ability to collect them in person, as well as deliver responses to students, I was forced to reimagine how this exchange might go on safely and meaningfully, while also monitoring student participation. Thankfully, over the last couple of years, people in Illinois’ correctional facilities have been able to acquire tablets (through the generosity of their families) and begin messaging electronically. Therefore, students have been able to continue engaging in this very powerful learning and relationship-building process in a virtual way. They also share their messaging with me in an assignment folder on Blackboard so that I can observe the quality of the exchange.


 

Student Reflections in Peace Studies

As the students attest, the messaging seems to be offering the engaging experience we strive toward through CEL, so I’m grateful for that. I may continue to use this method even after we can again meet in person. There are advantages to it for sure; time will tell. ~ Dr. Christie Billups


Claire Moran

Student

Before I began messaging an incarcerated individual, I was really worried that I would not be able to connect with him because our lives have been so different. Based off of our first conversation, I was pleased to immediately find out that I was completely wrong. I have quickly gained so much wisdom from conversing with this person, more than I ever thought possible. I am very grateful for this experience and am looking forward to more conversations and wisdom in the future.


Jessica Martinez

Student

Having the opportunity to build with two incarcerated individuals has been very eyeopening, because I was not used to hearing about the things that they go through. I didn’t think it would impact me directly, but as I have gotten to know two incredibly well rounded individuals, I have learned to avoid judgment, be an active listener, and to see them as people, not just ‘inmates.


Angel Olivo

Student

The topics presented in Practicing Faithful Justice: Black, White & Blue are timely and of paramount importance in addressing our historical, current and future societal wrongs and deficiencies. The class provides an understanding of peace and justice through a multicultural, faith-driven, person-first approach that prepares students to address and actively confront the volatile confluence of race and incarceration in America’s justice system; it genuinely integrates theory and praxis

2 views0 comments
bottom of page